Because Scott (AKA, I can’t count)

Well, the truth comes out.

I can’t count to three.

As a musician, this is worrisome.

Anyways, it would appear I forgot my 3rd tidbit for you all in yesterday’s post. I hereby post the official 3rd piece of information right here and now:

3.) Rufous Hummingbirds will always defend the same number of flowers in their territory regardless of their territory size. This is because after a certain territory size the energy wasted from flying around defending such a large area outwighs the benefits (in this case, energy gained from nectar).

I like hummingbirds. And I find it fascinating that they just know how many flowers to defend.

So there you are!

Unfortunately, as I just had my ecology exam, this no longer counts as studying…

Leave a Reply

