And now back to our regularly scheduled programming

In which our heroine explains the backstory of the 12 year relationship with her main instrument, le violin.

Well I may have stretched the truth a tad when describing how this post would be all “IMMA CLASSY GIRL ORCHESTRAL VIOLINIST BY DAY AND KICK-ASS GYPSY VIOLINIST BY NIGHT” because for one, I’m one of those beings that requires 8 hours of sleep and two, I find it very challenging to dance and play violin simultaneously.

When I was 8 my parents told me I was to chose an instrument to learn, and I rejected the mainstream piano choice in favour of the violin. Unfortunately, being young, practicing always got put on the back burner. Out of all the mistakes I’ve made in my life, my biggest to date is not practicing violin as much as I should have. My skill could be much greater than it is currently if I had put just a tad more effort into it.

Anyways as I approached my 9th year i decided to takeΒ  leap of faith and try the Royal Conservatory of Music exams. It was the most stressful, frightening, exhilarating, and exhausting thing I had ever done and it amounted to 9 months of practicing for 3 (sometimes 6) hours a day. And it was at this point in my life I realized how much I appreciated having the skill of knowing how to play violin and being classically trained. (On the downside it kind of crushed my thoughts of pursuing a bachelor of music after high school, but that’s okay πŸ™‚ )

After high school I stopped taking lessons and I ended up joining my university orchestra. Best. Decision. Ever. This was the thing that forced me to practice (You caught me; I got kind of lax after my RCM exam) and, in the past year and a half, has caused me to become such a better player than I ever imagined myself capable of. All the amazing people and music that comes together once a week has only intensified my classy, fly, orchestral side. πŸ˜‰

But onto the gypsy part.

In my last year of high school a bunch of my friends formed a musical collective entitled “Soup the Moose.” I have always loved celtic music and, while it took a while to find our footing and take off, we are now proud to call ourselves a world music/gypsy/folk band (amongst other things). Being part of this band has fueled my love of world music and even inspired me to write a jig. My ability to listen to a song and be able to play an accompaniment soon after is put to good use.

And there you have it. The longish tale of how I came to be the dual-violinist I am today πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

