The plea of a democratically-abled

As many you BC’ers know, we are soon to be engulfed in a provincial election on May 14th. I sincerely hope this is not unknown knowledge the majority of young adults in BC who may stumble upon and read this blog by chance.

And I don’t mean to sound like I’m stereotyping but I know that out of all age groups MOST young adults, especially those who have just turned 18, will not vote. Heck, even some 20 year olds I know aren’t voting.

All this for a variety reasons; I didn’t research, I don’t have time, I’m working…but the most frightening one, to me, is this:
“I don’t really care.”

This is frightening to me. Because as the youth grow older and continue to not care and as those who turn legal voting age also continue to not care the time may come where only the voice of handful of people will be heard. These people will elect the government in power. And as the number of voters dwindle, so does the chance of changing the government in power.

And not everyone is going to agree with this government.

THIS IS WHERE YOU COME IN.

On May 14th, vote. Please vote. Please exercise your democratic right. Having taken a political science course I can fully appreciate the freedom of having the privilege of anonymous voting for whomever you choose. I don’t know if its appropriate to beg anymore than I am, because I wish I could make younger adults realize the power they have over who is elected, and I realize that the pleas of a university student may fall on deaf ears but even if that may be so I will still be voting (2nd time!) 😀

Even if you haven’t researched a lot, there are so many sites which give a brief rundown on where each candidate/party stands on specific issues. Look at the ones that matter to you. Not your friends, not your parents, but you. 

And on May 14th, please remember to vote.

Leave a Reply

