Let’s Folk

Because
In one week’s time
I will be,
Alongside two (and probably more; my friend group likes to engulf other friend groups. LIKE AN AMOEBA) of my wonderful friends

WILL BE IN ATTENDANCE OF THE MUMFORD AND SONS CONCERT IN HOLLAND PARK.

And I’m aware some of you (hopefully, only a few. Wait…I only have a few readers…so best case scenario one or zero (ZERO FTW)) are thinking “So what?” “Don’t care.” “Shut up I hate you.” “I couldn’t get tickets now you’ve made me sad thanks a lot…” and I apologize if the latter is the case. However, this is not to be  blog post about my feelings of the concert; it is a backstory of how me and one of my favourite bands (and genres) came to be.

In early 2011 I was at a musical transition point in my life. Having found myself listening to punk rock bands for the last three years I was feeling a little…bored. This isn’t the most correct term as I still am a huge fan of bands such as Anti-Flag and Rise Against; however I can’t think of one that describes how I was ready to find more music to add to my playlists.

Anyways, along comes 2011, and with it the discovery of a radio station based out of Victoria, “The Zone 91.3”. It immediately became my new favourite station. A bit of punk rock, a bit of grunge rock, and loads upon loads of local BC artists (SUPPORTYOURLOCALMUSICSCENE). Among this treasure trove was another group to be discovered: Mumford and Sons.

The Zone started playing their single “The Cave” and I was smitten already 5 seconds into the song. I can remember sitting in the car as it played and not being able to think anything else other than “These guys are good….like….amazingly amazing…” (Forgive my 17 year old brain for lack of adjectives). And then I looked them up on the youtubes. And fell in love. This was the first time I had found a band in which the members incorporated so many different instruments into their sound, and on top of all were each multi-instrumentalists themselves.

Then came (in no particular order, and to only name a few) Johnny Flynn, The Staves, Aidan Knight, Beirut, Feist, Fleet Foxes, Arcade Fire, and so so so many more than I can type.

AND SO, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, THAT IS THE STORY ABOUT HOW I STARTED FOLK-ING
And how I have been folking ever since.

And how I will continue to folk up to and past next Friday.

With Mumford and Sons.

Folkster out.

Mumford and Sons Holland Park // Holland Road

Leave a Reply

