To the Fatherland

If you had asked me one year ago if I could envision future me traveling alone chances are past me would have laughed in your face.

“Are you crazy? Adults travel alone. Adults cross oceans to travel different countries. Those with no fear choose to live in said country. Those with major wanderlust live in different countries for months on end. Travel where English can’t be relied on as a safety? Haha yeah maybe with family or at least two friends.”

Fast forward one year:

I am an adult. I am about to cross the Pacific to travel to Taiwan. I’ll be living there. For two months. Everything I hear and read will be in Mandarin. I’m doing this alone.

I’m scared. Really scared. Already a tad homesick. Have no idea how I’ll survive this red eye 2am flight. Excited. Super excited. Majorly anxious. Beyond stoked.

To the fatherland I go. Here’s to new beginnings.

Leave a Reply

