One Week In And…

Holy moly I feel as if I’ve lived through three lifetimes already. There’s no way it’s only been seven days. I need to reevaluate the life choice of only blogging once a week…

Having just returned from a two day trip to Tainan I’ll focus this post on that and then compile my first few Taipei days a bit later. Capiche?

Tainan City is located in Southern Taiwan and is the oldest city in Taiwan. Me and two other people took the 7am train and arrived just before noon. Our hostel had the most adorable backyard which, for me, was a good sign. A happy camper indeed (Can I use that saying in regards to a hostel?)

image

Appropriately called “Bike Tainan Hostel” due to most guests choosing to rent the bikes and cycle the city, we rented some ourselves and headed off to see the town. Our first atop was Chihkan Tower, built on the remains of the 17th century Dutch Fort Provintia. After that we were on our way again and found cafes, temples, street art, and other historical buildings.

image

image

image

image

I got a bit of heat exhaustion mixed with lack of food, but our hostel owner, Kate, was more than helpful and within half an hour of returning all the other guests in the hostel (Us included) were planning to bike together the next day.

And we did. We got breakfast. Had a bike mishap. Fixed the bike mishap. Then we biked.
And biked.
And biked.
And biked.

I was not in charge of a map so I don’t know the specifics. TL;DR we got lost. In the middle of the day under the ruthless sun. We took a long break at a temple and I took a quick nap in a shaded area.

image

image

We were originally trying to head for a beach in Anping, and ended up taking the scenic route. Quite literally. So when we actually found the ocean we were nothing less than giddy.

image

Hello water I have missed thee

After six hours of cycling (NOT STRAIGHT I’M NOT THAT CRAZY) we had finally found the beach to watch the sunset.

image

First Taiwanese sunset

Long day. Very long two days. I’m so proud of myself for not dying from biking both the streets of Tainan and six hours in the sun. I almost feel as if the term “adventure” is inaccurate to describe this trip. Having never travelled alone I find myself thriving in minimal routine and from being surrounded by new friendly people. It was a time. Good and bad and tiring and fulfilling and all in all, a time.

Here’s to more times to be had.

image

Anping, Tainan City, Taiwan

Leave a Reply

