Carry Your Will

Two songs, both by the American band The Mowgli’s:
“Carry Your Will” and “San Francisco”.

Two lines from each song:
“Treasure this ’cause when it doesn’t last you’ll wish you had.”
“I’ve been in love with love and the idea of something binding us together, you know that love is stong enough.”

These two songs came on back to back the day a really close friend went back home. Reading them and thinking (and if you know the songs, knowing that) the first one is quite sad and the second is quite happy may have you thinking that this doesn’t make sense. Someone close to you leaving is always sad.

Well, it’s both. To me. These two songs capture the exact emotions I felt that day, and that I currently feel.

“Carry Your Will” speaks of treasuring all the memories you have and experiences that you go througn within your life, and to not take anything for granted.
Here in Taiwan you almost need to meet people with the expectation that you’ll soon have to say good-bye. For a summer student such as myself this holds true 100% of the time. Within one month of meeting two amazing people they had to fly back home. But because of the amazing times we had together, I don’t have any regrets and don’t feel as sad remembering the good times we had.

“San Francisco”…where do I even begin here…this has been one of my favourite songs for a good year now. It’s about community, about helping and loving everyone in your community, about everyone loving everyone. It’s so easy to say that but after my ten weeks in Taipei I can say that it’s true. I am in love with all my friends and hanging out with my friends and making plans with my friends. I don’t need anything more than that. Say what you will, it’s true. This kind of love makes me happy.

As I prepare to return to Canada I’m still in a state of disbelief that these last two and a half months managed to stimultaneously be the longest, shortest, and best two and a half months I’ve experienced. How lucky I am to have received this opportunity to learn Mandarin, connect with my Taiwanese family, travel, and meet some of the most beautiful personalities this summer.

With this, the final tag of “Nat in Taiwan” comes to an end.
Thank you, Taiwan.
Thank you, everyone.

Leave a Reply

